What I Wish My Teachers Understood About My Mental Illness

redefiningbipolar:

I’m really fortunate to have professors who understand my condition, but they are few and far between. I struggled with profs who didn’t understand mental illness and who didn’t think it was a valid excuse when I was an undergrad. I’m in the same faculty that provides teacher training, and sadly there are teachers-to-be who don’t see the need to learn about mental health if they’re just teaching high school math. Everyone has mental health, and taking care of our thoughts and emotions actually improves academic performance (if you need a reason). Those conclusions come from extensive research on social and emotional learning in schools, and it’s why we’re starting to teach kids how to handle emotions and relate to others. This is not a trend, it’s a necessity.  

What I Wish My Teachers Understood About My Mental Illness

Published by

@BipolarUs

FollowUs @BipolarUs: A Global Bipolar Support Group • @BipoIarPlus • @BipoIarUs • BipoIarUs@Outlook.com • Reddit.com/r/Bipolar • Hack.chat/?BipolarUs

Leave a Reply

