XI • This Is an Invaluable Point That We Must Examine. The Feelings of Wan… • https://BipoIarUs.wordpress.com/2015/10/19/14288/ • #BipolarUs

  

This is an invaluable point that we must examine. The feelings of wanting to get off of your medication at first is overwhelming and normal. No one wants to be on meds for their entire life but you’re tough as nails and you’ll adjust for the better; It took me awhile before I could accept this.

Since my diagnosis, I’ve gone off my meds three different times. I always tried to chase who I was instead of embracing who I am: a neurodivergent. While I was living without medication, my life began to deteriorate after about a year. Something would always trigger the sadness and then it felt like I was juggling 1,000 suns 1,000 different ways. Eventually, I crashed. 

The part I hated the most was the durations of how long I would be sad for which could be months. Sure, some people can get away without taking medication but life will be much more challenging for them. 

It took me awhile but it finally sunk in that I have abnormal brain chemistry and a physician will have to treat me for the rest of my life. There is no shame in it because evolution produced neurobiological mutations and 2.6% percent of us here in the states are affected by it. 

I think the first step is to admit that you have a mental illness and be okay with it. I’m confident that our kind have been around for millions of years. There are certain advantages for individuals who who are highly intelligent and creative out in the wild. 

The talents that our ancestors have bestowed upon us spans nations. If you go to the opposite side of the world, there is someone adapting to BD just like you. But in order to truly adapt, we must begin treatment for our mental health 

However, some believe that we can beat BD through sheer willpower alone but the truth of the matter is, we have a very deadly and complex brain disorder that has no cure. Until medical advances are made, we must soldier on with our diagnosis. 

Thus, as Odysseus’ ship ventured away from the sirens, we must steer clear from the temptation to stop taking our meds. Accept that your new feelings are valid and take the time to remember that it’s okay to yearn for old feelings laying in the past but always remember that we can’t travel to that place anymore, not even for a visit. For the next visit could lead to certain doom and destruction. ••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••@ + (BipolarUs – Us) + Plus = @BipoIarPlus • Looking 4 Bloggers/Vloggers/Artists • Submit Content 2 BipoIarUs@Outlook.comhttps://goo.gl/w17MrK

Published by

@BipolarUs

FollowUs @BipolarUs: A Global Bipolar Support Group • @BipoIarPlus • @BipoIarUs • BipoIarUs@Outlook.com • Reddit.com/r/Bipolar • Hack.chat/?BipolarUs

One thought on “XI • This Is an Invaluable Point That We Must Examine. The Feelings of Wan… • https://BipoIarUs.wordpress.com/2015/10/19/14288/ • #BipolarUs”

  1. Hi there. Thank you for your post and sharing your journey with readers. So many individuals diagnosed with bipolar (or other psychological concerns which necessitate pharmacological treatment) buy into the belief that willpower is the key to healing. Yes, dedication to the management of bipolar is key but like diabetes, medication is a crucial part of one’s treatment and long-term wellbeing. I hope your post will benefit others struggling to accept the place of medication in good self-care. Warm regards, F.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

